Monitor tab

The Monitor tab shows status information and all clients with a license key association.

Use the SHIFT- and CTRL-keys to highlight multiple users in the list.

Right-click the title bar of the user list to add/remove columns.

Click a column title to sort the users in the list. Click again to invert the sorting order.

Right-click on one of the column headers in the monitor to show or hide additional columns.

Monitor columns

ColumnDescription

The check boxes in the column "W" (for "write access") configure general edit permissions for the selected clients. If unchecked, options to add/remove/edit phrases will disabled in the clients to prevent operating errors.

This global write permission setting overrules any folder-based access permissions configured in the clients.

To change this settings for all clients in one go, uncheck the check box in the title row and press the Set button to apply the setting to all clients.

The check boxes in the title bar also define the default settings for new clients connecting for the first time. If you uncheck the "W" check box in the title bar, any client connecting for the first time will have no write access to the phrase file by default.

Avoid removing write access while a user is working on the phrase file as it may confuse the user.

The check boxes in the column "C" (for "configuration") disables access/change of any client program settings to prevent configuration errors.

To change this settings for all clients in one go, uncheck the check box in the title row and press the Set button to apply the setting to all clients.

The check boxes in the title bar also define the default settings for new clients connecting for the first time. If you uncheck the "C" check box in the title bar, any client connecting for the first time will have no write access to the phrase file by default.

The IP address helps you identifying a a particular workstation computer.

User identification (by a customizable combination of user name, work group and computer name).

Shows parts of the license key associated to the user. It displays "local" if the client is registered with a local license.

NamedUser licenses remain bound to the user even after the PhraseExpress client has been closed. ConcurrentUser licenses are automatically released after disconnection and are returned to the pool of available licenses.

The version number helps you identifying out-of-date client installations.

The Client Manager accumulates the time and money savings of all PhraseExpress clients.

The money savings accumulate do not reflect different currencies.

Remove users

  1. Exit PhraseExpress for the users, you wish to remove.
  2. Right-click the user(s) you wish to remove in the user list of the Client Manager and select "Remove license".

The license(s) return to the pool of available licenses and can be used by another client connecting to the server.

If the command is grayed out, the user still seems to be connected to the server.

A removed user will take a license if his client is launched again. To prevent that, remove PhraseExpress on his computer or disable autostart.

Users must be disconnected to be removed. If the menu item is grayed out, the user is still connected to the server.

Table of Contents

    Table of Contents